DATABASES

This category contains 32 posts

New on R2!

Check out the newly purchased nursing ebook titles on R2 Digital Library:

transcultural health care     Comprehensive Neonatal Nursing Care     Drain's Perianesthesia Nursing

To access R2 Digital Library and other library resources from off-site, contact the library (x 5161, library)

Advertisements

Search UpToDate from OvidSP with One-Click

If you haven’t noticed the Search UpToDate feature from within OvidSP yet,
check it out the next time you are searching in one of the Ovid databases. Search
UpToDate links appear as an option for every result record in Ovid. Clicking on the
link will generate search results in UpToDate on the article’s title and related terms.
This provides a quick and easy link between the two systems.Ovid UTD link

Keep in mind that in order to accrue CME units in UpToDate you will need to
login with the username and password you designated upon registering for a CME/
Offsite account. If you are accessing Ovid from outside of the hospital’s wireless
network with a username and password login (instead of via Cerner) you will also
need your login information for UpToDate.

To request off-site access to Ovid and other hospital & library resources use our
Request Off-Site Access form.

Getting to Know OvidSP

Ever wonder how to use MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) in OvidSP MEDLINE to retrieve highly relevant journal articles? Read our short how-to article to get started!

New Titles Added to R2 Library – November

These titles have been added to the R2 Digital E-Book Library on a trial basis.  To make recommendations for purchase, please contact the library.

To access an e-book, click on the URL under each book or go directly to R2 and browse by title. R2 Digital Library is also available from off-site: from a hospital networked computer, click on the Create User Profile link to create your offsite username & password.

 book1 The behavioral health specialist in primary care : skills for integrated practice / [edited by] Mary Ann Burg, Oliver Oyama.

http://www.r2library.com/Resource/Title/0826129870

 book2 Clinical nutrition / edited on behalf of the Nutrition Society by Marinos Elia … [et al.] ; foreword by Dame Sally C. Davies.

http://www.r2library.com/Resource/Title/1405168102

 book3 Diagnosis made easier : principles and techniques for mental health clinicians / James Morrison.

http://www.r2library.com/Resource/Title/1462513352

 book4 Facilitating resilience and recovery following trauma / edited by Lori A. Zoellner, Norah C. Feeny.

http://www.r2library.com/Resource/Title/1462513506

 book5 Fostering a research-intensive organization : an interdisciplinary approach for nurses from Massachusetts General Hospital / Jeanette Ives Erickson, Marianne Ditomassi, Dorothy A. Jones.

http://www.r2library.com/Resource/Title/1940446007

 book6 Handbook of infant biopsychosocial development / edited by Susan D. Calkins.

http://www.r2library.com/Resource/Title/1462522122

 book7 Handbook of psychodynamic approaches to psychopathology / edited by Patrick Luyten, Linda C. Mayes, Peter Fonagy, Mary Target, Sidney J. Blatt.

http://www.r2library.com/Resource/Title/1462522025

 No Cover Image The health professional’s guide to food allergies and intolerances / Janice Vickerstaff Joneja.

http://www.r2library.com/Resource/Title/088091453X

 No Cover Image Life cycle nutrition : an evidence-based approach / editor, Sari Edelstein.

http://www.r2library.com/Resource/Title/1284036677

 book8 Manual of nutritional therapeutics / editors, David H. Alpers, Beth E. Taylor, Dennis M. Bier, Samuel Klein.

http://www.r2library.com/Resource/Title/1451191871

 book9 Mastering informatics : a healthcare handbook for success / [edited by] Patricia Sengstack, Charles Boicey.

http://www.r2library.com/Resource/Title/1938835662

 book10 Mastering patient and family education : a healthcare handbook for success / Lori C. Marshall.

http://www.r2library.com/Resource/Title/1940446309

 book11 Mindfulness and the transformation of despair : working with people at risk of suicide / Mark Williams, Melanie Fennell, Thorsten Barnhofer, Rebecca Crane, Sarah Silverton.

http://www.r2library.com/Resource/Title/1462521827

 book12 Motivational interviewing in the treatment of psychological problems / edited by Hal Arkowitz, William R. Miller, Stephen Rollnick.

http://www.r2library.com/Resource/Title/1462521037

 book13 Nurse on board : plotting your path to the boardroom / Connie Curran.

http://www.r2library.com/Resource/Title/1938835921

 book14 The nurse’s step-by-step guide to transitioning to the professional nurse role / Cynthia M. Thomas, Constance E. McIntosh, Jennifer S. Mensik.

http://www.r2library.com/Resource/Title/1940446228

 book15 Nutrition for sport and exercise : a practical guide / Hayley Daries.

http://www.r2library.com/Resource/Title/1405153547

 book16 Nutrition for the older adult / Melissa Bernstein, Nancy Munoz.

http://www.r2library.com/Resource/Title/1284048934

 book17 Pediatric nutrition : policy of the American Academy of Pediatrics / Ronald E. Kleinman, MD, FAAP, editor, Frank R. Greer, MD, FAAP, associate editor.

http://www.r2library.com/Resource/Title/1581108168

 book18 Psychological assessment : a problem-solving approach / Julie A. Suhr.

http://www.r2library.com/Resource/Title/146251958X

 book19 Psychosis, trauma, and dissociation : emerging perspectives on severe psychopathology / editor, Andrew Moskowitz, Ingo Sch?afer, Martin J. Dorahy.

http://www.r2library.com/Resource/Title/0470511737

 book20 The recognition and management of early psychosis : a preventive approach / edited by Henry J. Jackson and Patrick D. McGorry.

http://www.r2library.com/Resource/Title/0521617316

 book21 Society and psychosis / [edited by] Craig Morgan, Kwame McKenzie, Paul Fearon.

http://www.r2library.com/Resource/Title/0521689597

 book22.jpg What color is your brain? when caring for patients : an easy approach for understanding your personality type and your patient’s perspective / Sheila N. Glazov, Denise Knoblauch.

http://www.r2library.com/Resource/Title/1617118346

 book23 When psychological problems mask medical disorders : a guide for psychotherapists / James Morrison.

http://www.r2library.com/Resource/Title/1462521762

New Quarterly MicroMedex Passwords now available

Contact the library for the new password and to be added to our email contact mailing list each quarter when the the new password comes out. You do not need a password to access MicroMedex from a hospital networked computer. The password allow users to access MicroMedex from a mobile device and/or from off-site.

Should You Do Your Own Literature Searching? Part I: The Pros & Cons of Doing Your Own Literature Searching

In chatting with a physician friend the other day, I asked her how the clinical research she was conducting was going. While she said her overall research and grant writing was going well, she felt that she was probably not searching the medical literature “all that well.” She acknowledged that she should probably ask her institution’s librarians for assistance but was reluctant to do so because of time constraints and because she thought that she should be doing her own searching. I suggested, why not conduct her own search as a first cut and then ask the university librarians to complete a more comprehensive search to see if there were any papers she had missed. “I can do that?” she asked. Sure!

Later, this interchange made me think further about why anyone might be hesitant in asking librarians to conduct literature searches. I started thinking about the benefits to being self-sufficient in searching or having a librarian do the search. I came to the conclusion that it need not be an either/or decision. There are benefits to each, here’s what I came up with:

Benefits of conducting your own literature search:

  • Expertise: As a clinician, you’re the expert on your topic and can alter the search in real time in order to hone in on the information that specifically meets your needs.
  • Fast: Conducting your own literature search to answer clinical questions can be quicker and the results (or lack thereof) are immediate. Keep in mind that anything more than a cursory search will probably take much longer than anticipated.
  • Effort: In some ways it also takes less effort because there is no need to explain what you are looking for or wait for someone else.
  • Breadcrumbs: You are free to follow tangential aspects of the topic depending on what your searches find or fail to find.

Benefits to having a librarian search a topic for you:

  • Familiarity: We search Medline and other resources on an almost daily basis and are familiar with their structure and controlled vocabulary (i.e., Medical Subject Headings) or lack thereof.
  • Narrow or Broaden: Familiarity with the resources allows us to be able to quickly filter, refine and limit search topics according to your criteria or broaden searches when nothing comes up on a topic.
  • Unbiased: A search done by a librarian can provide more of an unbiased set of results because clinicians’ practice preferences are not a factor in selecting or deselecting articles.
  • Comprehensiveness: We know how different resources overlap and where they are unique and use this knowledge to conduct a more comprehensive search. And, yes, sometimes Google is on our checklist of resources!
  • Time: We don’t mind spending the time because it’s what we do.

Utilizing Medline (or other resources) as effectively as you can, to return the most relevant and/or most comprehensive results, is the other important piece of the search process. I suspect this was the part that my friend was expressing was challenging for her, not because it is difficult, but because it takes time to become familiar with the resources, their idiosyncrasies and how to best use them.

So, the next time you wonder whether or not your search is comprehensive enough or has found the most relevant articles, consider asking a librarian to conduct the same search to see if anything new comes to light.

Stay tuned for Part II on tips for getting the most from requesting a search from the library!

Practice Changing Updates & What’s New on UpToDate: What’s the Difference?, and, How to Access

Access any of UpToDate’s “What’s New” topics within UpToDate by selecting “What’s New” from the tool bar (online); home page menu link (mobile); or by searching “What’s New” in the search box.

UTDWhatsNew

“What’s New” is a compilation, selected by our editors, of the most important updates related to recently published articles.

“Practice Changing UpDates” highlights those updates likely to have an immediate impact on clinical practice.

Select a “What’s New” topic below to learn more:

Practice Changing UpDates

Allergy and Immunology

Cardiovascular Medicine

Dermatology

Drug Therapy

Emergency Medicine (Adult and Pediatric)

Endocrinology and Diabetes Mellitus

Family Medicine

Gastroenterology and Hepatology

General Surgery

Geriatrics

Hematology

Hospital Medicine

Infectious Diseases

Nephrology and Hypertension

Neurology

Obstetrics and Gynecology

Oncology

Palliative Care

Pediatrics

Primary Care (Adult)

Psychiatry

Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine

Rheumatology

Basic vs. Advanced Search in OvidSP: What’s the Difference?

Ever wonder what the difference is between the Basic and Advanced search modes when searching one of the databases in OvidSP? Linked below are two short (under 5 minutes) tutorials that give tips on how to construct your search differently depending on which mode you are using.

Basic search (click for tutorial) is a natural language search interface which means you don’t have to know controlled vocabulary headings (a.k.a subject headings) or use Boolean operators such as AND, OR, NOT.  It can provide a way to comprehensively search for relevant articles in those databases that do not contain medical subject headings (MeSH) for each article, such as:

  • Medline In Process
  • Ovid Tables of Contents & Abstracts
  • HMH Full Text Journals@Ovid
  • some of the EBM Reviews databases

Searching in Advanced search (click for tutorial) mode can be important when searching resources that include a controlled vocabulary thesaurus (a.k.a. medical subject headings, or MeSH), such as:

  • Medline
  • Joanna Briggs Institute
  • EBM Reviews – Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews

Advanced mode can also be useful for field searching in any database. For example, if you want to find only articles written by a specific author (e.g. Shankwiler J) or in a particular journal (e.g. JAMA).

It can also be handy when you have the citation of a paper in hand and want to see if the library subscribes to the full text or order the article via the Document Delivery link.

So, when to use Basic and when to use Advanced is really dependent on two things:

  1. the purpose of your search
  2. which resource you are searching

It can, however, make the difference between finding what you are looking for or not. Finally, remember to apply the 20 minute rule: if you aren’t finding what you need after 15-20 minutes of searching, contact the library for assistance!

Earn Free CME/CE/AOA Credit on Library Resources

A number of library and hospital online resources offer free CME credits for searching and/or reading about clinical topics in the literature for point-of-care. A personal login account must be set up in order to start accruing CME credits. Contact the Library to request account set up. Here’s a list of what’s available:

UpToDate

UpToDate® offers Internet Point of Care CME. Physicians conducting structured searches on clinical topics may claim a half (0.5) AMA PRA Category 1 Credit™/CFPC MainPro®-M1 credit for documented completion (either at the point of care or later) of the three-step learning cycle. An UpToDate Anywhere account is required to accrue CME. See the UTD CME Help FAQ for more information: http://www.uptodate.com/home/help-faq-cme-ce

AOA Credit: The American Osteopathic Association (AOA) has approved as AOA Category 2-B credit.
CE Credit: CME AMA PRA Category 1 credit is acceptable for meeting RN continuing education requirements as long as the course has been taken within the appropriate time frames. CA Board of Registered Nursing website: http://www.rn.ca.gov/licensees/ce-renewal.shtml

ClinicalKey

Physicians may earn 0.5 AMA PRA Category 1 Credit for each search conducted through ClinicalKey. CME credit is provided by the Cleveland Clinic Center for Continuing Education. A ClinicalKey Personal Account is required to access this content. See the CK CME page for more information: https://www.clinicalkey.com/#!/cme

AOA Credit: The American Osteopathic Association (AOA) has approved as AOA Category 2-B credit.
CE Credit: CME AMA PRA Category 1 credit is acceptable for meeting RN continuing education requirements as long as the course has been taken within the appropriate time frames. CA Board of Registed Nursing website: http://www.rn.ca.gov/licensees/ce-renewal.shtml

OvidSP

Hospital affiliated physicians and nurses can now obtain 4 CME/CE credits for completing the tutorials and quizzes for all four levels of “Become a Journal Articles/eBooks Power Searcher on OvidSP.”

NATURAL MEDICINES (formerly NaturalStandard)

Clinicians in the community and other areas of practice are approached by many patients for questions on complementary and alternative medicines (CAM). High utilization herbs and supplements are popular topics. Confusion exists amongst healthcare professionals on the role of natural products in integrative care. The Natural Medicines/Natural Standard Continuing Education programs are aimed at addressing the evidence of benefit or lack thereof and safety concerns surrounding the use of various CAM herbs & supplements. For a listing of Continuing Education courses visit: https://naturalmedicines.therapeuticresearch.com/continuing-education.aspx

For more information and to request account set up, contact the library or visit Monday-Friday between 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. For self-service request forms and resource links, visit our website at http://huntingtonhospital.libguides.com.

NaturalStandard is now Natural Medicines

NaturalStandard has changed names and is now called NATURAL MEDICINES. The NATURAL MEDICINES web interface also has a new look but includes the same authoritative, evidence-based information on foods, dietary supplements, herbs, natural medicines and integrative therapies. Monograph sections include interactions, adverse effects, allergies, efficacy, pregnancy/lactation data and mechanism of action. English, French & Spanish Patient Handouts are available.

Patients spend over $58 billion dollars annually on natural products and alternative modalities (e.g., chiropractic, acupuncture, yoga). Over 50% of patients take supplements. Over 37% of hospitals now offer alternative medicine services. ~ Natural Medicine’s Integrative Medicine Newsletter, February 12, 2015 

More statistics on the Use of Complementary Health Approaches in the U.S. at the National Center for Complementary & Integrative Health website.

Access NATURAL MEDICINES from the Library’s website or directly from a hospital computer at: http://www.naturalmedicines.com

Off-site access is available, fill out a Request Off-Site Access form for account set-up.

Natural Medicines Screenshot